Book Recommendations

We have books that we just want to throw at people’s faces, the books we want the entire world to read and love just as much. I have a couple of books I simply adored and are now some of my favorites, I hope you read some of these and love them as much as me!


Historical Fiction:

1. Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys

25614492
I read Salt to the Sea last year and boy did I fall in love with the writing and the characters. She doesn’t write in normal chapter form, every couple of pages some one page, two, or three one of the main characters tells what’s going on from their point of view, which so AMAZING. I fell head over heels in love with  Florian. As thousands of scared and desperate refugees flock to the coast in the midst of a Soviet advance, four paths converge, vying for passage aboard the Wilhelm Gustloff, a ship that promises safety and freedom and new a life out of war and tragedy. It’s a beautiful tale that I wish I knew about. If you love realistic and charming characters, beautiful writing, amazing detailing and historical fiction, this is the book for you.

Classics:

2. Lolita by Vladaimir Nobokov

3486989

I fell in love with this book the first time I read it. It has since become a favorite of mine on my top ten reads of all time. It’s unlike anything I have read before. I know this book is a topic of massive discussion, you either love in with all your heart or you hate it with a burning passion. I have never met anymore in-between or torn in the middle with this book. It’s not for everyone, I will say that. But I think more people should give it a try. Humbert Humbert (that name right!) is a scholar, aesthete and romantic, he has fallen utterly in love with Lolita Haze, his landlady’s gum-snapping, silky skinned twelve-year-old daughter. He marries her mother to get closer to Lolita. There is love, heartbreak, friendship and a road trip adventure in this one hell of a story. Plus the writing is poetic and artistic, this is what books sound like when they are written as art.

High Fantasy/Adult:

3. Nevernight by Jay Kristoff
29845906

Completely and utterly in L O V E with this book, Nevernight takes number 1 on my list of my favorite books, alongside The Book Theif! Oh my goodness, I know. THIS IS NOT A YA BOOK. It is marketed as such but believe it is not for teens under 14-15, I think 16 or 17 is alright to read this, and older of course. There is magic, dark magic, a super neat school, a hot dude, a kick ass girl, fighting, a sassy shadow cat, a in-depth magical world, sex, bad language, and all around a good time. Mia Covere is such a character, she has faults, she’s not like other girl characters in fantasy books have everything going for her, she’s messy and realistic and messes up and falls in love when she doesn’t want to and kicks herself for it, she has a mouth on her, she knows how fight and nothing will stop her. She actually amazing and I want to hang out with her. Destined to destroy empires, Mia Covere is only ten years old when she is given her first lesson in death, this is where her story starts. Six years later, the child raised in shadows takes her first steps towards keeping the promise she made on the day that she lost everything. She a killing machine. But the chance to strike against such powerful enemies will be fleeting, so if she is to have her revenge, Mia must become a weapon without equal. She must prove herself against the deadliest of friends and enemies, and survive the tutelage of murderers, liars and demons at the heart of a murder cult. RIGHT, I DON’T THINK I WILL EVER STOP TALKING ABOUT THIS BOOK, book 2 comes out this year! OH MY YES.

YA/ Fantasy-Sci fi/ Romance:

4. The Love That Split the World by Emily Henry

Oh boy, oh boy. This book is a mess of different genres. That’s a fact. It’s a wonderful book25467698, it really is. Natalie Cleary must risk her future and leap blindly into a vast unknown for the chance to build a new world with the boy she loves. She can see things, and so can this boy, it’s a crazy ride when they first meet each other.  Natalie’s last summer in her small Kentucky hometown is off to a magical start… until she starts seeing the “wrong things.” They’re just momentary glimpses at first—her front door is red instead of its usual green, there’s a pre-school where the garden store should be. But then her whole town disappears for hours, and Nat knows something isn’t right.
That’s when she gets a visit from the kind apparition she calls “Grandmother,” who tells her: “You have three months to save him.” The next night, she meets a beautiful boy named Beau, and it’s as if time just stops and nothing exists.


One comment

Leave a Reply

